Supreme Court Seal
Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Judicial Branch
Court News ...

The Supreme Court of South Carolina

Re: Expansion of Electronic Filing Pilot Program - Court of Common Pleas

Appellate Case No. 2015-002439


Pursuant to the provisions of Article V, Section 4 of the South Carolina Constitution,

IT IS ORDERED that the Pilot Program for the Electronic Filing (E-Filing) of documents in the Court of Common Pleas, which was established by Order dated December 1, 2015, is expanded to include York County.  Effective February 27, 2018, all filings in all common pleas cases commenced or pending in York County must be E-Filed if the party is represented by an attorney, unless the type of case or the type of filing is excluded from the Pilot Program.  The counties currently designated for mandatory E-Filing are as follows:

Aiken Allendale Anderson Bamberg
Barnwell Beaufort Cherokee Clarendon
Colleton Edgefield Georgetown Greenville
Greenwood Hampton Horry Jasper
Kershaw Laurens Lee Lexington
McCormick   Newberry Oconee Pickens
Saluda Spartanburg Sumter Williamsburg
York—Effective February 27, 2018

Attorneys should refer to the South Carolina Electronic Filing Policies and Guidelines, which were adopted by the Supreme Court on October 28, 2015, and the training materials available on the E-Filing Portal page at to determine whether any specific filings are exempted from the requirement that they be E-Filed.  Attorneys who have cases pending in Pilot Counties are strongly encouraged to review, and to instruct their staff to review, the training materials available on the E-Filing Portal page.

s/Donald W. Beatty                     
Donald W. Beatty
Chief Justice of South Carolina

Columbia, South Carolina
February 8, 2018