Supreme Court Seal
Supreme Court Seal
South Carolina
Judicial Branch
Court News ...

E-Filing Pilot Program to Expand to Colleton County on February 7, 2017

Effective February 7, 2017, the E-Filing Pilot Program will expand to include Colleton County in addition to Clarendon, Sumter, Lee, Williamsburg, Greenville, Pickens, Spartanburg, Cherokee, Anderson, Oconee, Beaufort, Jasper, Hampton, and Allendale counties. E-Filing in the Court of Common Pleas is mandatory for attorneys in Pilot counties unless the type of case or the type of filing is excluded from the Pilot Program in accordance with the South Carolina Electronic Filing Policies and Guidelines. For more information go to


The Supreme Court of South Carolina

Re: Expansion of Electronic Filing Pilot Program - Court of Common Pleas

Appellate Case No. 2015-002439


Pursuant to the provisions of Article V, Section 4 of the South Carolina Constitution,

IT IS ORDERED that the Pilot Program for the Electronic Filing (E-Filing) of documents in the Court of Common Pleas, which was established by Order dated December 1, 2015, is expanded to include Colleton County.  Effective February 7, 2017, all filings in all common pleas cases commenced or pending in Colleton County must be E-Filed if the party is represented by an attorney, unless the type of case or the type of filing is excluded from the Pilot Program.  The counties currently designated for mandatory E-Filing are as follows: 

Allendale Anderson Beaufort Cherokee
Clarendon Hampton Greenville Jasper
Lee Oconee Pickens Spartanburg
Sumter Williamsburg    
Colleton—Effective February 7, 2017

Attorneys should refer to the South Carolina Electronic Filing Policies and Guidelines, which were adopted by the Supreme Court on October 28, 2015, and the training materials available at to determine whether any specific filings are exempted from the requirement that they be E-Filed.  Attorneys who have cases pending in Pilot Counties are strongly encouraged to review, and to instruct their staff to review, the training materials available on the E-Filing Portal.

s/Donald W. Beatty                
Donald W. Beatty 
Chief Justice of South Carolina


Columbia, South Carolina
January 17, 2017