## The Supreme Court of South Carolina

RE: South Carolina Courts Mental Health Initiative Task Force

## ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER

Pursuant to the provisions of Article V, Section 4 of the South Carolina Constitution,

IT IS ORDERED that the South Carolina Courts Mental Health Initiative Task Force (Task Force) shall be created to provide advice and recommendations to the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of South Carolina on the improvement of the administration of justice for individuals affected by serious mental illness.

- (a) Purpose. The Task Force shall provide advice and recommendations to the Chief Justice regarding policies, resources, tools, and other practices needed to create a more effective, fair, and timely justice system for individuals affected by serious mental illness.
- (b) Membership. The Task Force shall consist of sixteen appointed members, each representing a Judicial Circuit. Members shall serve at the discretion of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of South Carolina. The Chief Justice shall designate a Chair from the membership. The State Court Administrator shall serve as an exofficio member.

IT IS ORDERED that the membership of the South Carolina Courts Mental Health Initiative Task Force shall be:

1<sup>ST</sup> Circuit - The Honorable Molly Edwards, Probate Court

2<sup>ND</sup> Circuit -Capt. Nick Gallam, Aiken County

3<sup>RD</sup> Circuit - Jeff Ham, Santee Wateree Community Mental Health Center

4<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - The Honorable Reneka McCoy, Probate Court

5<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - The Honorable M. Scott Rankin, Family Court

6<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - Vernon Kennedy, Fairfield Behavioral Health Services

7<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - Maressa M. Cuenca, Solicitor's Office

8<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - The Honorable Frank R. Addy, Jr., Circuit Court

9<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - The Honorable JoAnna E. Summey, Magistrates Court

10<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - Michael Cunningham, AnMed Health

11<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - The Honorable Debra R. McCaslin, Circuit Court

12<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - Sheriff J. Brian Wallace, Marion County

13<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - Mindy H. Lipinski, Public Defender's Office

14<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - Jeff Kidd, Solicitor's Office

15<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - The Honorable B. Alex Hyman, Circuit Court

16<sup>TH</sup> Circuit - The Honorable Carolyn E. Woodruff, Probate Court

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the South Carolina Courts Mental Health Initiative Task Force Order dated January 9, 2024, is hereby rescinded.

This order takes effect immediately and remains in effect unless amended or rescinded by the Chief Justice.

s/Donald W. BeattyDonald W. BeattyChief Justice of South Carolina

February 12, 2024 Columbia, South Carolina